Date: October 8, 2013

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013 was awarded jointly to Martin Karplus, Michael Levitt and Arieh Warshel "for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems". The Rutgers Chemistry and Chemical Biology faculty applaud the accomplishments of these three outstanding scientists and their contributions to the Chemical Sciences. Three of the Rutgers Department of Chemistry faculty, Profs. Darrin York, David Case and Ron Levy, have had the privilege to work with Prof. Karplus as their mentor. Prof. Karplus is a U.S. and Austrian citizen, and currently Professeur Conventionné, Université de Strasbourg, France and Theodore William Richards Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA. Prof. Karplus' contribution to science have been extremely broad, having profound influence in both experimental and theoretical biophysics.